Removing hinges on biocube 32

lordthaxto

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
49
Reaction score
24
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Austin
Hi all, see my build thread for background if you want :)

This is about removing the hinges attached to the biocube ( the lid is already removed ).

I am trying to think of the best way to get my skimmer to fit, and this hinge is the only thing getting in the way for placing in chambers 2 and 3 :

20210115_073144.jpg


I figured a hack saw or something, with a friend running a vac to grab the plastic before it drops into my tank.

Here is the skimmer :

20210114_184746.jpg


So intake would be in chamber two after water goes through my intank media trey. Output would be directly into chamber three. I have an ATO system I will need to figure where to place as well.

The other other concern I have is my return pump... the octo has a higher turnover in GPH. The chambers 2 and 3 are "level-ish" only a small sponge between them. So in theory, would the octo just retain the same level in those back two chambers?


Thanks
 
Click to watch best scape method in 5 easy steps!

john90009

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
467
Reaction score
350
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Jersey
I took a dremmel and carefully cut them off and then sanded them down. I still have the black support, and try to cover the tank with cardboard or something because it gets everywhere. It gets fairly hot so do it a bit at a time
 
OP
lordthaxto

lordthaxto

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
49
Reaction score
24
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Austin
I took a dremmel and carefully cut them off and then sanded them down. I still have the black support, and try to cover the tank with cardboard or something because it gets everywhere. It gets fairly hot so do it a bit at a time
Thanks! You wouldnt happen to know anything about the skimmer turn over rate, versus the pump being an issue by chance?
 

john90009

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
467
Reaction score
350
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Jersey
Sorry for the late response. I did not install a skimmer in mine. I hooked a floodlight to shine in the back of mine and there cheato in there and was able to grow corals without a skimmer.
 

Attachments

  • FE180188-2242-4861-A4BB-E4572178CE19.jpeg
    FE180188-2242-4861-A4BB-E4572178CE19.jpeg
    150.5 KB · Views: 9
OP
lordthaxto

lordthaxto

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
49
Reaction score
24
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Austin
Sorry for the late response. I did not install a skimmer in mine. I hooked a floodlight to shine in the back of mine and there cheato in there and was able to grow corals without a skimmer.
Nice build! I got the skimmer in the other day ( see my build thread for photos ). I used the dremel, just need to do a second pass to get the red sea led to fix dead center

Thanks guys!
 
Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED lighting
Printed Reef
Top