RODI Pressure

Discussion in 'General Equipment, Hardware, Filtration' started by rmillay1974, Jan 3, 2018.

  1. rmillay1974

    rmillay1974 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    If i have 82 lbs coming in do i need to run a booster?
     
    Tags:

  2. JoshH

    JoshH Not happy with things here taking a break from R2R R2R Supporter Partner Member 2018 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    2,489
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    What system do you have? Although you could run pretty much any system with 82 PSI.
     
  3. rmillay1974

    rmillay1974 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    marine depot 6 stage
     
  4. JoshH

    JoshH Not happy with things here taking a break from R2R R2R Supporter Partner Member 2018 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    2,489
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    82 PSI is plenty for that IMO
     
  5. K. Steven

    K. Steven Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    729
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Is it 82 psi going into the prefilters or into the membrane? There can be a drop in pressure between the prefilters and the membrane. 82 psi into the membrane is more than sufficient.
     
  6. rmillay1974

    rmillay1974 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    going to add a gauge before membrane soon.
     
    K. Steven likes this.
  7. K. Steven

    K. Steven Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    729
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Just move the gauge you have now. A pressure gauge before the prefilters is not really necessary because all you care about is the pressure going into the membrane.
     
  8. KSReefing

    KSReefing Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    I believe they recommend you have a pressure of 50 PSI. You have more than enough pressure. No booster pump needed.
     
    chipmunkofdoom2 likes this.
  9. KSReefing

    KSReefing Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    So no booster pump needed!
     
  10. rmillay1974

    rmillay1974 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Guys will move gauge
     
  11. Gene Ashton

    Gene Ashton Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am considering a 5 stage RODI unit from BRS. Is your system working as it should with 82psi?
     
  12. JoshH

    JoshH Not happy with things here taking a break from R2R R2R Supporter Partner Member 2018 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    2,489
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Mines a 4 stage with dual RO membranes running with 85 PSI with no issues whatsoever :)
     
  13. rmillay1974

    rmillay1974 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    working fine
     
  14. levi83

    levi83 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    19
    My pressure dropped over time. Will prefilters affect pressure into the membrane?
     
  15. chipmunkofdoom2

    chipmunkofdoom2 Always Making Something R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    2,778
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Yes. As prefilters catch the particulate matter in the source water, they clog. This is normal and to be expected. This is part of the reason why you should change your prefilters every 6 months on a schedule, or when you observe a pressure drop. The other reason is because carbon loses its ability to handle chlorine/chloriamine over time. Both chlorine and chloramine will ruin a RO membrane pretty quickly.
     
  16. levi83

    levi83 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    19
    Thanks for the info. My pressure dropped in about two months but I was doing a lot of waterchanges on my 210. Good to know. I never had a pressure gauge so I never really knew what to look for.
     
  17. chipmunkofdoom2

    chipmunkofdoom2 Always Making Something R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    2,778
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    It could be that you just have a lot of particulate matter in your water. Try using a small sediment filter (1 micron) and replacing just the sediment filter when the pressure drops. If your sediment filter is protecting your carbon blocks adequately, it's possible they can be changed out much less frequently.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...