SCA 150 Build

Sqwertyl

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I've never done a build thread while it was currently taking place, step by step. Figured I'd start today and update along the journey. This is an upgrade from my little 65 gallon tank.

I've been eyeballing the SCA 150 for about 2 months, wondering whether or not I could justify dropping 1100 on a tank and then another 3-500 building the stand and all the larger equipment that goes with having a larger tank. And then I stumbled across a post on marketplace for the tank and what looked like a decent stand for $700! I jumped on it (apparently along with a long list of other people). It was about 4 hours south of me so I rented a 5'x8' trailer and took a trip south. I was nervous having never moved such a large and seemingly delicate piece of furniture before, but truthfully it wasn't that bad.

I got it home in one piece! My wife and I unloaded the stand and there a bit of work I need to do to make it "mine", but it's fairly solid. It was on just 2x6 crossbeams, which I was unhappy with, so I cut a piece of 3/4" ply and set that on top. I bought a yoga mat to go in between that and the tank. Moving the tank inside was the hardest part..

I had a buddy come over to help move the tank, and I'm still not pleased with how it sits on the mat, but it won't see water for a while so there's time to fix that. The tank sits about 41" high which is awesome, I don't like the look of those 31" stands where I have to lean over to look inside (I'm 6'5"). This tank looks massive in my little 1400sqft house!! I'm super excited to see this tank come together! Pictures to come.

OP
OP
Sqwertyl

Sqwertyl

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
20210207_212842.jpg
20210206_212503.jpg

OP
OP
Sqwertyl

Sqwertyl

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0