Seemingly healthy mandarin now swimming in spirals, has lost control of its balance/buoyancy.

therootcause

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Healthy mandarin, eats pods, pellets, frozen etc.

About three hours ago I noticed it was “leaning” to the right. Now I saw it swimming in spirals in the water column - highly unusual.

I have it in a basket for observation and it can’t seem to stay upright. If it’s a swim bladder problem, can I intervene with a syringe or other implement?

I have several types of medications and tools but I’m not a fish expert. Looking for suggestions.

***UPDATED YOUTUBE LINK TO MANDARIN SWIMMING***

IMG_2647.jpeg

Last edited:

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
I can’t open video but from lookssappears to be moribund. Normally they are thin when in trouble but this fish is not skinny’
I don’t see signs of aggression but check and assure both ammonia and nitrate as well as temperature has not become elevated and salinity has not become low
Please post you tube video if possible

OP
OP
therootcause

therootcause

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I can’t open video but from lookssappears to be moribund. Normally they are thin when in trouble but this fish is not skinny’
I don’t see signs of aggression but check and assure both ammonia and nitrate as well as temperature has not become elevated and salinity has not become low
Please post you tube video if possible

Thank you.

Mandarin Video Link

As of 20 mins ago…
Salinity 1.024
Ammonia 0
Nitrate 20
Phosphate .1
pH 8.37
Temp 78.5
Alk 8.37
Calcium 460
ORP 282

vetteguy53081

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Thank you.

Mandarin Video Link

As of 20 mins ago…
Salinity 1.024
Ammonia 0
Nitrate 20
Phosphate .1
pH 8.37
Temp 78.5
Alk 8.37
Calcium 460
ORP 282