Sensors & Controllers - Maybe DIY?

drcrook

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Folks,

So I'll start this off with I'm an engineer by trade and I build software for industrial controllers; so the programming, wiring and fabrication stuff is perfectly fine for me.

The main driver to this post is that I want to understand the parameters of my tank and preferably continuously in a digital format such that I can adjust my water parameters as needed.

I'm seeing the Neptune includes most of the sensors I think I should be interested in for $800; which sounded very high to me. I can purchase temperature sensors for $1 and build a housing fairly inexpensive too.

The salinity/conductivity, ORP and pH sensors from my vendor are a whopping $150-$200 each (call it $175). So that's $525. My controller, interface and housings would probably be another $150. So I'm figuring its roughly $675 to build my own or I could possibly just purchase for $125 more.

Questions.
  1. Do you really need all of those sensors or which ones are most critical? I'm thinking Salinity, Temperature and pH. I'm not sure about ORP.
  2. Has anybody built one before and if so; what sensors/vendors did they use? I use Atlas Scientific, albeit they are pricey.
  3. This is pretty high for monitoring. How often do folks monitor without these solutions and what is the cost of that typically?
  4. Are there additional benefits to the Apex?
  5. Are there alternatives to the Apex primarily for water quality monitoring?
  6. Are there sensors for Magnesium and Calcium?

chipmunkofdoom2

Always Making Something
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@Ranjib has done some really exceptional work on a Raspberry Pi based controller system called Reef-Pi. When I need a new controller, I'm going this route. There's no way I can justify the $800 for an Apex. I know about what relays cost and how easy it is to program a controller. It's not worth $800.