• For a Limited Time the R2R Partner Membership is NOW OPEN! Get some cool swag and chances to win part of over $20,000 in prizes! Click here for more details

Should i cycle new aquarium if it has media from old aquarium?

mattaytayan

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
21
Reaction score
54
Hello reefers,
Just got a 10 gallon jbj today as an upgrade from my fluval evo 5 since my pump went out. I got new dry sand and dry rock for the new aquarium. I will be setting it up tomorrow and plan on using 2-3 gallons of water from my previous tank.

I also have a 1 gallon sump with media and chaeto that i will be hooking up to the new tank.

My question is:
Should i still wait a couple weeks before adding my 1 clownfish from my previous tank into the new one if im going to transfer the sump and some water?
 
Lazys Coral House

Hugh Mann

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 12, 2020
Messages
1,180
Reaction score
1,146
Location
Merritt, BC
You should be alright with one clownfish. I set up my 55 that way. Just used some nasty old media from an established tank. Worked like a charm.

That being said, I would wait at least a couple days from setup just to be cautious. Seachem ammonia alert badge just in case.
 
OP
M

mattaytayan

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
21
Reaction score
54
Imo you should be ok, just monitor ammonia for a week or two just to be safe. Do you have any sand or rock in the old tank?
Yea i have both sand a rock, one reason i opted for new sand and rock is cause theres a few bristleworms and i want to keep the new tank as pest free as possible, in my sump i do have quite alot of media and i will add some sand. I would wait a day or two but again, my pump went out on my old tank.
 

NeptuneRjo

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 23, 2019
Messages
184
Reaction score
148
Yea i have both sand a rock, one reason i opted for new sand and rock is cause theres a few bristleworms and i want to keep the new tank as pest free as possible, in my sump i do have quite alot of media and i will add some sand. I would wait a day or two but again, my pump went out on my old tank.
That's understandable lol. If you want to be safer you can take a tiny bit (maybe a few generous pinches in a tank that size) of the old sand and spread it around the new tank to help seed the dry sand.
 
OP
M

mattaytayan

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
21
Reaction score
54
That's understandable lol. If you want to be safer you can take a tiny bit (maybe a few generous pinches in a tank that size) of the old sand and spread it around the new tank to help seed the dry sand.
Uh, old sand is black, new sand is white
 

NeptuneRjo

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 23, 2019
Messages
184
Reaction score
148
Uh, old sand is black, new sand is white
Ah, then you probably don't want to mix lol. I think you will be fine either way but you can always seed some new media in the old tank before you upgrade and just let it sit in the new for a week or two, but again, I think you will be fine.

As Hugh said you can wait a week or two before moving the clown just to be safe
 

How many corals do you have in your reef tank?

  • 1 - 5

    Votes: 86 9.0%
  • 6 - 10

    Votes: 130 13.6%
  • 11 - 20

    Votes: 209 21.8%
  • 21 - 30

    Votes: 148 15.4%
  • 31 - 50

    Votes: 152 15.8%
  • 51 - 75

    Votes: 88 9.2%
  • 76 - 100

    Votes: 53 5.5%
  • 100+

    Votes: 93 9.7%

Online statistics

Members online
2,577
Guests online
4,906
Total visitors
7,483
Top