Show Me Your Equipment Cabinets

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by BfishLpond78, Mar 10, 2015.

  1. BfishLpond78

    BfishLpond78 F.U.P.A. R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    Seymour CT
    So I designed my sump too big and there will be no room underneath for any additional items, apex, ATO and dosing.

    Looking to either buy or build like a small equipment cabinet to house all these items, please show me yours, i'd like to get an idea on how to organize/design it.

    Thanks!
     
    Tags:

  2. zesty

    zesty Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Reef Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    anyone? I'm interested as well...
     
  3. Trevor W

    Trevor W Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Canada
    I had some extra room beside my tank and not a lot under so I did this...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. KingOfPain86

    KingOfPain86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Broward County
    Be careful with anything made from MDF. Especially if your housing any liquids. The evaporation can pull some of the chemicals out of the MDF and poison the water if your not careful. I learned this the hard way.
     
  5. Calmbeast

    Calmbeast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Eastern PA
    Great thread idea! trying to come up with ideas for mine as well.
     
  6. reeferjeremy

    reeferjeremy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    marysville,wa
    I'd like to see what everyone else is doing as well I'm in the process of building my first stand and am putting a false panel on the left side so I can mount my rke and wavemaker controllers to the outside of the sump area. Nit sure how this stand is gonna turn out though lol I've never built one before
     
  7. Jet_Pilot

    Jet_Pilot Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    GA
    +1 I definitely could use some ideas for my upcoming build.
     
  8. BfishLpond78

    BfishLpond78 F.U.P.A. R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    Seymour CT
    If you guys follow R2R on FB, theres alot of post/pictures of what people have done concerning this thread. I'm getting some really good ideas, hopefully i can replicate them.
     
  9. jackson6745

    jackson6745 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    NY
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2015
  10. 2fish4u

    2fish4u Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Mandeville, LA
    My equipment

    [​IMG]
     
  11. BfishLpond78

    BfishLpond78 F.U.P.A. R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    Seymour CT
    Where did you get the wire grommets?
     
    Honeycombz likes this.
  12. RUGDOG

    RUGDOG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Alabama
    I used a wall cabinet like a medicine cabinet. Put my radion ballasts on the bottom. DJ strip on a shelf right above those then velcroed my apex wxm etc to back wall above that.
    image.jpg image.jpg

    image.jpg

    image.jpg
     
    Darntootin, Tristren and Don Lidtke like this.
  13. 2fish4u

    2fish4u Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Mandeville, LA
    I found them at mockett.com
     
  14. kbourque

    kbourque Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    18
    Lowes sells em in the hard to find section down the fasteners isle
     
    dMiles likes this.
  15. kevantheman35

    kevantheman35 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    indiana
    [​IMG]
     
    Don Lidtke and HowUDoin like this.
  16. DaveMorris

    DaveMorris MACNA2016 Co-Chair R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    288
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    This is what I did for my electronics:
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    The equipment section is to the right of the sump. These pictures were taken right before the tank was running fully. Since I am pretty satisfied that the Archon is far enough along I will be changing around some of the control elements to replace the RKE with the Archon base. My topoff reservoir is downstairs so I have no need for that by the tank, but I think I will begin dosing soon and will probably just get a small version of a kitchen cabinet to place a dosing reservoir in. I will most likely get it custom made by Marc Levinson so the size will be based on the cabinet size. My tank sits about 18" from the wall on the left side so I will most likely put the cabinet there. Somehow it seems like we never plan for enough room under our tanks.
     
    jazzmik, Don Lidtke and Thoms_here like this.
  17. fsamir

    fsamir Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Nice thread. I have started designing my electronics cabinet and this thread has helped to inspire my creativity (aka copying) :p
     
  18. Brinkfish312

    Brinkfish312 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Shreveport, LA
    Question: when Yall are mounting these crazy organized equipment "studios" are you adding/altering the wiring or plugs to make them longer to get them where you want them to go? Or do you just work with what they come with and hope it fits?
    I am collecting lots of re-design and organization ideas for when we can change up or upgrade in a couple years.
     
    germs101 likes this.
  19. DaveMorris

    DaveMorris MACNA2016 Co-Chair R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    288
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I didn't need to extend or shorten any of my wiring. All of the extra is in the cable raceway that I am using.
     
  20. fsamir

    fsamir Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Sometimes there are too many cables, sometimes they are too short. I tried to overcome this issue, by creating a relay box with cables coming out of it, instead of the normal box with power sockets. This way I could cut the cables to size. It ended up not being a very user friendly solution, though.

    [​IMG]
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...