Simon’s (Mostly Conceptual) 1,600 Build

ca1ore

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve never had a build last more than 4 years. Sometimes the result of a house move, but usually due to boredom and the itch to upgrade. Reef tank is like a closet - crap just expands to fill the available space. I’ve got a one year old 450, and it’s eseentially full. If the past is any guage for the future, it’s got about another 3 years to go. Might as well start planning and collecting for the next one. I already know it will be huge - nominally 14’ x 5’ x 36”, so a little short of 1,600 gallons. Built a plywood tank many years ago, and itching to do one again. I’ll show a few diagrams and thoughts about potential equipment in subsequent posts. I’m a veteran DiYer, so looking to design and build rather than buy where possible.

This will be a glacial gestation, thus ‘conceptual’ in the title. To be continued .....

Last edited:

SPR1968

No, it wasn’t expensive dear....
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sounds great and looking forward to reading it and of course the pictures!! Lol

I keep thinking about a massive tank, and so far have managed to ‘control’ myself.........

GoldeneyeRet

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I will be following along on this one for sure!

Scrubber_steve

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not to rain on your parade, but I've often envisaged a large ply build like yours, but building it out of concrete blocks just seems like such less of a headache

:)

OP
OP
ca1ore

ca1ore

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not to rain on your parade, but I've often envisaged a large ply build like yours, but building it out of concrete blocks just seems like such less of a headache

:)