Skimmer Shutoff Float Switch

Sold4jc7

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 6, 2018
Messages
252
Reaction score
110
Location
Hesperia
I wanted to add some protection measures to my skimmer. I 3d printed a clip to mount a float switch that connects to my Apex break out box. There is no modification to the skimmer lid, so the skimmer doesn't need to be modified.
The float switch clips onto the skimmer lid and the wired feed out the skimmer air holes. Simply hook the float up to an Apex breakout box. There is about 1/4" adjustment in the float height by unscrewing the float. I believe this will work on a majority of skimmers.

20201223_204401.jpg 20201223_204159.jpg
 
Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED lighting

lapin

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
8,086
Reaction score
15,310
Location
Austin
Nice
 

lapin

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
8,086
Reaction score
15,310
Location
Austin
I have an optical sensor that will tell apex to shut off the air pump if I fail to dump the skimmer drain bucket
 

redfishbluefish

Stay Positive, Stay Productive
View Badges
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
10,343
Reaction score
20,025
Location
Sayreville, NJ
Nicely done! Like @Biglew11 , I did something similar on my skimate container. My one question is how you'll disconnect the wiring to clean the cup and lid?
 

Gtinnel

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
724
Reaction score
747
I also have a similar setup only I don't have an apex so mine is ran to a homemade controller and I put the float in a plastic container as a skimmate collector. I have a coax power connector on mine so that I can unplug it and empty/clean the container. My connector isn't water tight but when it gets corroded I'll just put a new one on.
I almost drilled a hole in my skimmer lid for mounting the float before I decided to use a separate container. Would you be willing to share the .stl file so if I ever decide to get rid of the container I don't have a drill a hole in my lid?
 

Sleepydoc

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
1,151
Reaction score
1,032
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Nice I tried to do something similar with my skimmer but found the space between the inner and outer walls in the skim mate cup was too narrow for the float on the float switch. I ended up just draining the cup to an external reservoir an putting the float switch on that.

Out of curiosity, did you look at mounting it to the lid?

The big thing to be careful of with a setup like this (and float switches in general) is to make sure it stays clean so it doesn't get stuck and cause an overflow. rinsing it off when you empty the cup should be sufficient for that.
 

What types of R2R interview articles are you most excited about?

  • Specific reef topics! (List the ones you'd like to see us cover in the thread.)

    Votes: 60 38.2%
  • Specific reef personalities! (List the people you'd like us to interview in the thread.)

    Votes: 9 5.7%
  • Not that concerned about the topics...I just wanna see the awesome PICTURES!

    Votes: 30 19.1%
  • All of the above!! ...and yes, I'll list some in the thread. :-)

    Votes: 58 36.9%

Online statistics

Members online
1,532
Guests online
4,791
Total visitors
6,323
LA
Top