So much to learn!

-Nana-

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! I'm excited to be here and learn from you all. I'm fairly new to this hobby and didn't know there was so much to learn. It's been pretty overwhelming but I'm starting to get the hang of it.

I've always wanted a saltwater tank but couldn't afford one while raising 5 kids. I've had several freshwater tanks over the years and had a really nice 65 gallon. A friend told me that he knew someone who was selling his 180 gallon saltwater tank really cheap so I talked my husband into buying it for me for Christmas. Since I knew nothing about saltwater tanks, I hired a couple of guys from Whitlyn's Aquatics in Evansville, IN to move it for me. They moved it in freezing cold weather with an inch of snow on the ground. They worked really hard tearing down, moving and setting up the tank in my home. They set it up beautifully and I didn't lose any fish. They are truly amazing!!!

I've had my saltwater tank for a year now and still have a lot of question so I figured this would be a great place to get answers. I've been buying a few corals and trying to figure out placement, water flow and lighting. Last week I put a refugium in my sump and bought a couple of Hydor Koralia wave pumps with a smart wave controller. I'm not sure if the pumps should be placed high, low or middle and what settings. I figure it would depend on my rock formation and corals. I could use a lot of advise in this and other areas of reefing. I am looking forward to hear from you all and learn from your experiences and expertise.

Ocean_Queenie

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello & Welcome, happy you’re here~
IMG_8890.jpeg

Kristopher Conlin

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!!

Unfortunately flow and power head placement is totally different from aquarium to aquarium. Differences in aqauscape and coral type will effect it as well.