SPS - Difference in success at start up

ReefHunter006

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m not a guru, but I’m not a beginner with SPS. I can grow sps fairly well.

My question: Why does it seem like some can just throw a bunch of tenuis in a freshly cycled tank and skip the frags browning, or STN’ing?

I have a lot of experience growing sps, while not an expert, I have a very good understanding of what I’m looking for. Yet I drop a couple frags from my frag tank into this new tank and they are STNing over the last two weeks. Zero idea why.

po4 .1 no3 15

Frag Tank

D905AF34-8CE7-4402-B3F5-F21F3C3641D8.jpeg

Now my new display that is 6 months old, started fresh rocks, sand, etc. covered in coraline

CE8BF729-9938-496C-9653-04F98CC843A0.jpeg

Alk is stable around 7.6 - 7.9.

7F005100-3A56-42DD-8FD1-497B7D9F14C8.jpeg

Lavey29

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Perhaps they have a level of knowledge and skill you have not reached yet although your tank looks fabulous. Or maybe they just get lucky. As a novice reefer I tried a few at 8 months and failed. Now after my tank has turned a year I have 35 growing SPS frags and mini colonies. My knowledge and skills improved but for me it was the tank maturity that helped. I had way to much instability when my tank was new. I do admire skilled reefers who can add corals from day one and be successful.

billyocean

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good seasoned live rock is a major help to start with, preferably from the existing system. If you have enough of that then it's nothing more than fresh saltwater..assuming it's the same salt you are using in the other tank. Then match par and flow

billyocean

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sounds like lack of maturity in the tank..I took 20 lbs I had in my 125 and put it in a 20 gallon tank and had acros in it the next day no problem

OP
OP
ReefHunter006