Starting off on a bad note

jesse_larsen

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, my names jesse and I own a 29 gal biocube. I joined today on an effort to find out what the heck is happening to my fungia. It seems to be receding but all my other corals are doing just fine. It's my first plate coral so I'm quite new to this type of coral and don't really know if I should
Move it to lower light and flow or leave it be....any help would be greatly appreciated and I'm happy to join the family! (Sorry about the dirty sand! any comments on how to fix that would help also!)
09d3c7d2bcdd97ca603f6bfccac15db0.jpg
IMG_6937.JPG

Maritimer

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, Jesse - and welcome to Reef2Reef.

I've never kept fungias, but perhaps someone else on the #reefsquad can offer you some assistance with that guy . . . I am given to understand that if it passes on, you should keep the skeleton in the tank, as they often produce babies from the skeleton over the next several months or so.

I use Cerith and tiger conch snails to help out with my sandbed.

~Bruce

OP
OP
jesse_larsen

jesse_larsen

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, Jesse - and welcome to Reef2Reef.

I've never kept fungias, but perhaps someone else on the #reefsquad can offer you some assistance with that guy . . . I am given to understand that if it passes on, you should keep the skeleton in the tank, as they often produce babies from the skeleton over the next several months or so.

I use Cerith and tiger conch snails to help out with my sandbed.

~Bruce

Thank you for the help! And thats pretty interesting about it growing from the skeleton, at least if all else fails I know there's a little hope left haha! And I'll have to look into conch snails as I hear they are good cleaners. My goby isn't doing crap so I figured it was time for some more help

Tahoe61

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score