Steel Stand 120gal questions

Klx110ripper

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey fellow reefers,

I'm getting ready to start my build of my 120. Tank is 4'x2'x2'. I am a fabricator / welder in my former days and really enjoy doing that and i'm good a it.

So my questions are;

What size square tube has everybody used? 1 1/2" or 2"?
Assuming 1/8 wall is good?
Side Panels? ( My thought is to make gussets in the corners, then have panels with magnets to hold sides on. Would look seamless with doors or handles.And i could also remove all 3 sides to work in sump)
rustoleum or powdercoat?

Please post pic's, concerns or just your 2 cents!!

Thanks in advance

Larry L

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My tank is 36x24x20 and the stand is 35mm tubing (about 1 3/8"), I don't know the wall thickness. It's all powdercoated.

My stand has tabs with holes in them, and I use thumbscrews from the inside that go into T-nuts on the back sides of the panels. It's still easy enough to get the panels on and off when I need to, and I didn't want to have to worry about trying to figure out what magnets to get that would be strong enough.

stand-0.jpg

stand-1.jpg

OP
OP
Klx110ripper

Klx110ripper

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My tank is 36x24x20 and the stand is 35mm tubing (about 1 3/8"), I don't know the wall thickness. It's all powdercoated.

My stand has tabs with holes in them, and I use thumbscrews from the inside that go into T-nuts on the back sides of the panels. It's still easy enough to get the panels on and off when I need to, and I didn't want to have to worry about trying to figure out what magnets to get that would be strong enough.

stand-0.jpg

stand-1.jpg

Nice!!! I really like that idea, looks really clean! That was my concern as well, finding a magnet strong enough

DanTheReefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0