Steves 150 build thread

SKMoss

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thread title to change, but it makes as much sense as anything else for now.

I hesitate to even start this thread with literally no concrete plans. All I know at the moment is location it will go, and sooner or later it will have a Mandarinfish. Ok, I have 100s of hours diving in the So Pacific and just want to replicate that the best I can.

So some background. I have a lot of experience doing reef tanks badly. I also have lots of experience with being very impatient. I do have one thing going for me. I’m totally naive enough to think I don’t need things like weekly water changes, tank maint, or omg a QT. Just being honest with my self.

So with deep humility I’m here to gather as much help as I can foster in building out a good, properly maintained reef tank.

I have had an nano tank and a RSM 250. So I am not totally new. I’m also retired now so no more 5-6 hour daily commute. Speaking of that I come with a reasonably high tech background. Eg software development, android, windows, web, iOS, Arduino, etc. And pretty good on the hardware side of things as well. And, a full woodshop.

The area the tank is going to go in is my home office. I have a wall with enough room for tank/stand ~60” long, and can come out from there as much as needed. To the right side of the wall is a small closet where I could put small fridge for food, soda and a beer or two, chiller, QT(s), supplies, etc. I can also punch through the wall into the closet if that made sense.

I’ve been looking at as RS 650 xxl with all the trimmings, but am also considering doing something ala cart and as much DIY as I can.

I know I’ll want a control system and have been looking at the Neptune system, but am open for suggestions. (Its the geek in me trying to escape)

I guess I should say, I have budget to spend what’s needed, but not to spend stupid. I’d rather spend it one time now, than multiple times later.