Sudden Clown Injury, Royal Gramma spots

andrew2937

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, I’m pretty new to reef tanks but care a lot about these fish and would greatly appreciate some help here! 2 issues:

1) Royal gramma: tail and pectoral fins have had the almost imperceptible clear/maybe white spots. Pectoral spots seem to come and go (sand?). The fish started flashing every few minutes about 3 weeks ago. Sometimes every like 30 seconds and then may go a while without flashing rocks etc. I noticed his tail seems a bit frayed. Fish has been eating fine and is out and about besides the flashing.

I finally decided to QT and treat him last night. I couldn’t catch him. I wanted to do something about this before traveling for the holidays. One possibility from my research was flukes and it sounds like prazipro is considered safe for DTs so I decided to try it (removed everything as suggested, power head running, added an air stone. Dosed for 35 gal in a 45 gal tank = accounting for water level/rocks etc)

2) I just started it like an hour ago and found my favorite clown suddenly has a huge spot of damage on him. Pictures included. I’m thinking he could have flashed really hard and hurt himself? Or another fish bit him?

Any strong opinions on what’s going on with the Royal gramma?

What’s my way forward on the clown? Do I need to isolate and treat for bacteria?

… just as I was about to post: damaged clown bit the larger flasher wrasse in front of me to the point I saw scales come off (never seen that in my life before). I’m guessing the wrasse bit the clown earlier?… IMG_2115.png IMG_2116.png IMG_2122.png IMG_2123.png IMG_2124.png

Attachments

• IMG_2114.mov
    65.7 MB

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
Can’t open video on my phone but first assure good water quality and gramm