Sump Overflow Direct or Indirect?

MantisShrimpMan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
9CADBA20-5E2D-476E-BA11-7A47CCB91044.jpeg

Included diagram should hopefully give a good sense of what I’m asking. Do people prefer sumps that dump water directly to the mechanical filtration or should they have some sort of spillover “staging area”? I’m assuming the spillover staging area might keep things a little quieter, right? Also, since I want to run a Reef Factory Smart Roller (only reason I drew filter socks were because they’re more intuitive) and that only has one port in, a staging area would allow a bunch of drains to be merged into one, right?

I’m new to sumps (currently an AIO guy) but given that my planned build is a weird size, I’d like to DIY a sump from scratch for it, and Knowing details like this makes a big difference.

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I agree with YoYo, but if a fish goes into the overflow it's gonna have a better chance of living in the sump with a #2 option?

I like your drawings for discussion by the way, very nice!

Also, that direct plunge in 1 is going to force more small particles thru the filter media, but I think it is typical for rollermat set ups? Its a mystery, lets see what the board comes up with? :cool:

OP
OP
MantisShrimpMan

MantisShrimpMan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would say direct is better as the bottom of your indirect picture will become a detritus settling area. Unless you clean it regularly. I’m not a roller fan. Yet. I have been happy with using reef diapers vs socks .
I have no clue what a reef diaper is. Explanation/pictures?

The thing I didn’t include in this picture is that I’d imagine you’d want the pipe to reach at least halfway down that spillover chamber to help keep detritus suspended. Was just hard to include that and still have room for the arrow in the chamber lol.
20488BA8-5CB2-45A5-9FCB-D7B59CC85CFB.jpeg