Sump plumbing question - noob here

cfendya

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all, I'm looking for some feedback on how best to setup the plumbing in my sump. I'm fairly new to all this so please go easy :)

Background...
Tank is a Red Sea Max E260 that is setup for under cabinet sump.
Sump is an IceCap 30 (I realize it's probably overkill for my tank but I got a great deal on it) :)
Picture shows bulk head connections with Red Sea plumbing kit dry fitted to see what I'm working with.

Initial thoughts...
The height of the sump is going to make connections challenging
Is it ok to introduce U's within PVC or flexible tubing?
Should I remove the Red Sea gate valve or can I just cut the tubing after the gate valve and run flexible or PVC over to the sump?
Not opposed to using flexible tubing to ease and simplify the hookups if best.

Thanks for any and all suggestions! :)

IMG_20171120_193501.jpg

Last edited:

don_chuwish

Smells something fishy
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is a tough one for me because I don't know how easy it is to work with that Red Sea plumbing - but if you can get 90deg elbows in right after the unions you should be able to reach the sock inlets. Gate valve just ends up horizontal.

OP
OP
cfendya

cfendya

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Any thoughts on the below plumbing layout? I'll obviously need to cut the red sea plumbing but I'm not opposed to this.

Is it ok that the line running from the gate valve to the sock inlet have minimal slope to it? From my best guess and measuring, it will almost be completely horizontal. Also, would this line need some sort of support?

Red connections are 45 or 90deg connectors and blue are straight. Ball valve connectors exist at top (shown in yellow) :)

IMG_20171120_193501.jpg

don_chuwish

Smells something fishy
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0