T5 HO's to LED's

GotZoom05

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Morning All,

Thanks for the add! This is my first post here although I have been lurking here and there.

I have been using T5's for several years but have always wanted to try LED's. An opportunity presented itself and I was able to pick up three of the a160we's for a steal of a price. Also included the goosenecks and the controller as well.

My tank is a 125 gallon, 72" long standard. I know the 360's would be ideal, but again for the price I paid it was worth a try. The person I purchased the lights from had the same tank with great results.

My current livestock is 3 Clowns and a Sailfin Tang, a few zoa frags, hammer coral, frogspawn, pulsing xenia and mushrooms.

I am looking for help with the acclimation, moving from T5's to the LED's. I see the controller offers this as an option but wasn't sure if I should follow this as I think it is for adding new inhabitants after the lights have been established.

How high should I have them above the water line? I see many say approx. 8" or high enough so that the light isn't spilling outside of the tank. Is this a reasonable approach?

Finally, what is everyone else using for their light schedule? I would love to see some examples to try out.

I have always used glass tops but made my own mesh tops this past weekend so the glass ones will be stored.

My current light schedule: Aquaticlife T5 8 Bulb Fixture (non ramping)
Moon on at 11:00am,
Actinic. on at 1:00pm,
moon lights off at 1:00pm
10k on at 2:00pm.
10k off at 5:00pm
Actinic off at 6:00pm
Moon on at 7:00pm
Moon off at 10:00pm

I apologize this is so long.

Thanks in advance!

MTBake

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I ran 2 Kessil 360we over my 40 breeder. Intensity and color were both set at 100%. I didn't ramp the lights at all. They were on for 11 hrs a day.