Tang question(s)

MonkeyDLuffy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all.
So my 75 reef tank is maturing and I'm planning for the last 2 or 3 fish I would like to add, a tang being one of them. Going by Internet resources I see I could do a kole or tomini tang. My question is this then: reading forms and talking with my lfs I was told the majority of tangs need a 6 foot to 8 foot tank due to being large swimmers in the wild or they wouldn't be happy (which is my goal full life spans and their happiness). While these majestic creatures have millions of gallons and miles of space to swim how does that 2 to 4 feet make a difference? Just to clarify I'm not looking for rationalization to keep one of these larger tangs, but rather knowledge to keep my animals happy and when I upgrade to eventually keep some of these surgeon fish that have drawn me to this hobby.

As I'm new to marine aquariums any and all input is appreciated! :)

Thank you.

Anthony Wood

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all.
So my 75 reef tank is maturing and I'm planning for the last 2 or 3 fish I would like to add, a tang being one of them. Going by Internet resources I see I could do a kole or tomini tang. My question is this then: reading forms and talking with my lfs I was told the majority of tangs need a 6 foot to 8 foot tank due to being large swimmers in the wild or they wouldn't be happy (which is my goal full life spans and their happiness). While these majestic creatures have millions of gallons and miles of space to swim how does that 2 to 4 feet make a difference? Just to clarify I'm not looking for rationalization to keep one of these larger tangs, but rather knowledge to keep my animals happy and when I upgrade to eventually keep some of these surgeon fish that have drawn me to this hobby.

As I'm new to marine aquariums any and all input is appreciated! :)

Thank you.