Temperature Problems

NewRobert

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

It's been a while but I am still new to this. I am battling crazy temperature problems in my tank. During the day the temperature is around 28C (82.4F).

Ambient temperature is not that high. I suspect my problem is the lights. I got the 4 x t5 fitting with the tubes with the tank. I know they were pretty high spec when buying. The whole idea was not to have to replace the lights when adding corals later.

I am scared to open the glass slide covers on top of the tank and leave it that way because I suspect it would damage the canopy. The light fitting is currently 85mm (3 1/3") from the water surface.

It's not a faulty heater I switched that completely off to test. It is also not the thermometer at fault - I have tried 2.

I would like to ask advice please. How can I fix this situation before having to resort to buying a chiller? I am guessing if I am going to have to spend the money on a chiller I would probably be better off replacing with LED lights but I like these would like to try and make it work.

I can raise the lights up by 30mm (little more than 1"). I can further raise the canopy (and with that also the lights again) another inch. Will this help? Should I do something else? Is the fact that the tank has glass cover and closed canopy a problem I won't be able to recover from?

Please advise. I included some pictures.

Thank you very much in advance!

20210209_220221.jpg 20210209_220644.jpg 20210209_221115.jpg 20210209_214939.jpg

OP
OP
NewRobert

NewRobert

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sorry I should have mentioned, the temperature can skyrocket up to 30 degrees Celsius (86F) - This is obviously a problem that needs to be fixed before something dies or will die.

Reefer5640

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0