Test Kits vs Digital Testers

KeMiKiLL

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have an API Saltwater Master Test Kit that I use to check my levels daily during this first cycle but have seen many devices out there that seem to do the same thing,

I would imagine that these digital testers would have to be accurate otherwise why would I see so many reefers using them?

Also, one of the vials in the API kit has a cap that doesn't really hold tight, for some reason, so, when shaking for 30 seconds, and then again for 60 seconds during a nitrate test I'm sure that the loss of drops must skew the result anyway.

I've like to have a digital tested for as many metrics as possible and then also keep a traditional kits (with properly capping vials!) as a secondary check if I think results aren't right.

What brands, models, etc. do you all suggest?

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use salifert tests and have never had issues. Lot of people like hanna checkers too though

fade2black

Is this thing on?
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use mainly Hanna checkers for Ca, Phos, Alk, and Salinity. Currently testing the PASCO wireless pH datalogger for pH and I use AquaForest for Mg. I'm not a fan of API so I avoid them.

PatW

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
API test kits are quick and dirty. They can be “good enough”.

Salifert tests tend to be inexpensive and reliable. I use their alkalinity and their magnesium test.

I use Red Sea Pro for alkalinity, calcium, and nitrate. I think Red Sea Pro has the best nitrate test out there but only if you are OK discerning shades of pink.

I use Hanna for alkalinity and for phosphate (their ULR phosphorous test).