Theoretically...only 9 days of cupramine for ich?

Shilpan Patel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys! Sorry to keep posting I’m just learning about ich and copper and I have all these questions. I’ve currently got a sailfin tang in quarantine that I plan to keep in there for a month. Then after the month is up, WITHOUT lowering the copper, catch it, FW dip it for a fluke test, and then put it in a bucket, lower copper in the bucket using cuprisorb then straight into my display.

I was thinking since Ich only has that feeding stage on the tang for 9 days, wouldn’t it make sense that copper treatment a day or two over 9 days would be sufficient to get rid of the ich by having it fall off the fish? The ich would still be in the QT of course but none would be on the fish.

Or is the reason people don’t do this because it leaves too little room for error?

ZachR32

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can do tank transfer method in as little as 13 days

OP
OP
S

Shilpan Patel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ah yes I’ve looked into that, but it’s a bit costly for a tang. Given I have a 40 gallon tank and I’d need another one which is appropriate size plus all the salt water used.

I might try it next time for a smaller fish though using buckets.

Rython

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Plus TTM only covers you for Ich, and copper covers you for velvet too, which is arguably just as common these days. And speaking from experience here, TTM is super annoying. I'd personally rather do a month long easy treatment with a biofilter than a 2 week long treatment that requires a ton of work where ammonia is a much greater threat. With the chelated copper + hanna checker methodology now, at least for me, copper treatment is the obvious choice.