Thinking about coral, no idea what to do.

gfeb

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! So I currently have a 55 gal FOWLR tank. It’s now about 4 months old. Has been cycled for a month or so. I am new to the reef tank hobby and I believe I have a decent handle on maintaining a healthy/happy tank. I’ve definitely made some mistakes in the beginning and have learned so much in the past several months. (I.e. supplement your crabs diet or he’ll eat your $30 fish…)
I am interested in trying my hand at adding some coral in the near-ish future. I was hoping for some tips.

1- what’s are some good, hardy starter coral would not require direct feeding
2- what corals should I avoid given my existing inhabitants?
3- what are big mistakes people make when adding coral?
4- when is a good time to add?
5- what kind of additional water monitoring/maintenance do corals add?

Fish:
3 baggnaii cardinals
1 yellow tail damsel
1 naked clown
1 fairy wrasse
1 purple dottyback
1 blue/green chromis

Invert:
1 emerald crab
1 cleaner skunk shrimp
15+ Mexican turban snails (ordered 5… ended up with 20)

Salinity 1.024
Nitrites ~0 ish
Nitrates 0
Ph 8.1
Temp 80-81.5 (heater is set to keep at 78, I think my thermometer reads high)
Hardness 180

Dad2Wyatt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! So I currently have a 55 gal FOWLR tank. It’s now about 4 months old. Has been cycled for a month or so. I am new to the reef tank hobby and I believe I have a decent handle on maintaining a healthy/happy tank. I’ve definitely made some mistakes in the beginning and have learned so much in the past several months. (I.e. supplement your crabs diet or he’ll eat your $30 fish…)
I am interested in trying my hand at adding some coral in the near-ish future. I was hoping for some tips.

Fish:
3 baggnaii cardinals
1 yellow tail damsel
1 naked clown
1 fairy wrasse
1 purple dottyback
1 blue/green chromis

Invert:
1 emerald crab
1 cleaner skunk shrimp

Salinity 1.024