Thinking of getting a octopus

clownfishmama

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to saltwater and I have a well running 15 gal with two clownfish so I’m thinking I can handle an octopus? What breeds should I look into and what tank set up should I get the cute creature?

reefermadnes5

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I follow an octopus named bruce on insta. The interaction between bruce and the person is awesome. Coralsanonymous.com has an awesome selection of aquarium octos and their shipping of livestock has been quality for me.

twentyleagues

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What has stopped me in the past and presence is their ability to get through any space thats even a little bigger then their beak. Thats pretty small on most aquarium "appropriate" octopi. The other fact is I tend to get attached and since most dont live much more then a year thats sad.

OP
OP
clownfishmama

clownfishmama

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What has stopped me in the past and presence is their ability to get through any space thats even a little bigger then their beak. Thats pretty small on most aquarium "appropriate" octopi. The other fact is I tend to get attached and since most dont live much more then a year thats sad.
They’re almost equivalent to intelligent hamsters. And I want a long lasting pet!

ISpeakForTheSeas

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The "Atlantic Pygmy Brown" species are generally the most popular because they're small, tropical, and not lethally venomous; a lot of people like Bimacs (both species) as well, but they're temperate/coldwater:
Generally, the recommended tank size for one dwarf octopus (the small species that get about the size of a hand) is 30 gallons (or more - larger is better for these guys, with most people who have kept them before recommending more in the range of 50-75 gallons for one)