Tips for switching lights

Gtinnel

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm going to switch to new lights within the next few days and I'm a little apprehensive about it. I'm switching from some viparspecra to the new Noopsyche lights. I know it's best to start the new lights off lower than the old but how much lower? Also, how long does everyone spend raising the lights up to the previous lights intensity?
I'm excited but a little nervous to see how the corals react.

kittenbritches

The Cat's Pajamas
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm no expert, but when I upgraded my lights I ramped them up over the course of a day. Granted, mine were super cheap and non-programmable, but I figured my corals were used to that crazy, crappy light, so they'd be fine getting an appropriate intensify with a wider spectrum ASAP.

OP
OP
Gtinnel

Gtinnel

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm no expert, but when I upgraded my lights I ramped them up over the course of a day. Granted, mine were super cheap and non-programmable, but I figured my corals were used to that crazy, crappy light, so they'd be fine getting an appropriate intensify with a wider spectrum ASAP.
I was thinking more along the lines of increasing the max brightness of the lights over the course of a few days to a week. I can't say that I'm looking forward to reprogramming the lights everyday though.
I assume the light(s) you upgraded to was the Noopsyche also?

WVNed

The fish are staring at me with hungry eyes.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The trick is to keep in mind how comparable the output of the 2 lights is.
If you put new super powerful reef lighting on a tank that had an old freshwater light on it for a while you might have to turn it down to 20% to keep stuff from getting blasted.