To Treat, or not to Treat?

tigé21v

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It's been years since I've added any fish to my system. I recently picked up a few to help with pest control.-
Six-line wrasses
Matted filefish
Lawnmower blenny
Magnificent foxface
Naso tang
I've had them in a QT tank for a week or so, just to give them a chance to settle in. S.G. is 1.020, same as the water they came from. Everyone seems to be doing fine, some seem to be eating more than others, but all are eating. No visible signs or actions of any sort of parasites/infections.
This is my first time trying to "do right". In the past I've always just floated and added the fish. I know (well, assuming) my tank has ich, insomuch as I've never treated for the prevention of ich in the past. That being said, I'm not in a position right now to rid my system of ich. But I'd really like to keep from introducing anything new into the system. (Velvet seems to be the latest and greatest craze.)
So, on with the questions so I can get this right...
Well, I'll start with one question, and see where it leads.

Should I just hold the fish in QT and only treat if I observe signs of disease, or go ahead and treat prophylactically?

TIA

Humblefish

Dr. Fish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would just observe in QT for one month to be sure velvet doesn't rear it's ugly head.

If it does, you will need a bottle of copper. The tang & filefish are the ones to watch most closely for signs of parasites/worms.

Speaking of worms, might not be a bad idea to prophylactically treat with Prazipro: https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/prazipro.247598/

OP
OP
tigé21v

tigé21v

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
HF,
Thanks for the reply.
Is one month enough time for velvet to show up, if there is any?
I picked up some chelated copper, All-in-One, and Focus in case they came in showing signs. Can I use the All-in-One to treat for parasites?

Maritimer

7500 Club Member
View Badges