torch coral not looking good

dutchreefer8

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Heey

A few months ago I got a new torch coral. And now I am noticing that the tissue is reseeding, the mouth of the coral is also very big and the colors don’t look as they did before. I thought it might me a pest of some sort so I dipped it but nothing weird came off it. While I was dipping I noticed that the skeleton looks weird on one side of the coral. I do feed my corals 2 times a week because my nitrates and phosphates where low for a long time. I am dosing both of those now. I do have other torches and also some hammer coral and they are all looking verry healthy. I don’t know what I need to do. I hope someone can help.

Parameters

Kh: 9.2

Calcium: 420

Mag: 1250

phos: 0.07

Nitrate: 0.03

Attachments

• torch coral.pdf
    721.5 KB · Views: 108

Goaway

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I'm kind of new to torch corals. But I will do my best and hope when the experts arrive they can correct me.

From my own experience, torches are very sensitive. Mine is still recovering from shipping for the past few weeks.
Do you know your par? I had mine under 100 par and it did not like that. Had to reduce to 75 par.
How about water flow?
Salinity levels? They like things between 1.025 and 1.027
How is your ph?
Do you have any dips if brown jelly takes place? It's looking very irritated.

Mr. Mojo Rising

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
if you've had it for a few months, and all your other corals are fine and only this torch has a problem only on one side of it, could it be getting stung by another coral?

tjohnson3

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well… it’s splitting, so that’s good. BUT… there’s what looks to be a huge chunk of skeleton missing from the backside of one of the heads… has it always been this way?

OP
OP
D

dutchreefer8

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%