Triton setup support question

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

Kevinkmk

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone and @Tim@Triton

I have a reefer 350 and planning to use the Triton core 7. I am wondering if my sump modification with 7.5 gallon space for cheatos with around 80 gallon total water volume can be use to run Triton core 7. Currently I have no algea in the display as I’m running cheatos, GFO, and carbon reactor beside my skimmer.

Picture below: I make the first part of my sump as refegium as the cheato will have first contact with water from the display. Will this 7.5 space support the Triton core 7 method? Thanks!

3C71B6B9-B80F-4FE0-A8AD-F90906859D56.jpeg

John494

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm no expert on this topic (I just recently decided to try this method myself). I did watch the BRS videos on the triton method (about 10x each) and I do remember Randy saying to the extent of,,, if the refugium size is not exactly the 10% size of the total water volume in the tank, it's not a deal breaker but to concentrate more on how you're going to light the refugium. Based on this, I would say that your refugium should work, as long as you have a good game plan for the rest of the details ie: lights, skimmer, flow, etc.

John

OP
OP
Kevinkmk

Kevinkmk

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm no expert on this topic (I just recently decided to try this method myself). I did watch the BRS videos on the triton method (about 10x each) and I do remember Randy saying to the extent of,,, if the refugium size is not exactly the 10% size of the total water volume in the tank, it's not a deal breaker but to concentrate more on how you're going to light the refugium. Based on this, I would say that your refugium should work, as long as you have a good game plan for the rest of the details ie: lights, skimmer, flow, etc.

John