Triton setup support question

Discussion in 'Triton Applied Reef Bioscience' started by Kevinkmk, Jan 11, 2018.

1. Kevinkmk

Kevinkmk Active Member

Hi everyone and @Tim@Triton

I have a reefer 350 and planning to use the Triton core 7. I am wondering if my sump modification with 7.5 gallon space for cheatos with around 80 gallon total water volume can be use to run Triton core 7. Currently I have no algea in the display as I’m running cheatos, GFO, and carbon reactor beside my skimmer.

Picture below: I make the first part of my sump as refegium as the cheato will have first contact with water from the display. Will this 7.5 space support the Triton core 7 method? Thanks!

3C71B6B9-B80F-4FE0-A8AD-F90906859D56.jpeg

2. Kevinkmk

Kevinkmk Active Member

Is it going to work?

3. Kevinkmk

Kevinkmk Active Member

Anyone?

4. Kevinkmk

Kevinkmk Active Member

Is my question too crazy to ask?

5. John494

John494 Member

I'm no expert on this topic (I just recently decided to try this method myself). I did watch the BRS videos on the triton method (about 10x each) and I do remember Randy saying to the extent of,,, if the refugium size is not exactly the 10% size of the total water volume in the tank, it's not a deal breaker but to concentrate more on how you're going to light the refugium. Based on this, I would say that your refugium should work, as long as you have a good game plan for the rest of the details ie: lights, skimmer, flow, etc.

John

Kevinkmk likes this.
  6. Kevinkmk

Kevinkmk Active Member

Thank you! I think my 73 display only have 60 gallon of water since there is live rock in it.

7. Tim@Triton

Tim@Triton Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

Close enough ;)

Just make sure the algae gets plenty of light and flow and it should be fine.

mckinleyw likes this.
  8. Kevinkmk

Kevinkmk Active Member