Unexpected Upgrade! 24gAIO to 120g RR!

Snaizel

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Uh so this was really not what I planned happening. I joined this forum a couple weeks ago because I've just started my journey in the saltwater hobby! I'm a longtime FW planted tank fan and wanted to make a gentle step into saltwater with this cute 24g aio I got for a good deal
20201013_003528.jpg

It's got caribsea life rock, live sand, kessil a80, standard return pump and skimmer that came with the tank, a small WaveMaker, and a couple other little things. I just recently added an ocelaris clown and got 2 free corals thrown in with that purchase (looks like some kind of mushrooms. Im not good with ID-ing corals just yet.) And its been great so far.

Then I found a very nice local deal on a 120gal RR tank with stand, sump, return pump, and light mounting brackets. And i really couldn't resist. So one of my roommates and I headed over to pick everything up and after severely overestimated what his little sedan could fit and several uber xl's at midnight to transport all this gear back to our little rowhome and gathered a few friends to help us carry and move everything in:

20201014_192906.jpg

I believe this tank is an oceanic tech? Eurobraced 120gal 4x2x2 tank. (Correct me if im wrong)

(Not pictured is the sump and the LED mounting brackets: theyre both diy so im cleaning them up right now. I kinda dig the 2x4 light brackets haha)

I have never owned an aquatic tank this size and this is also my first introduction to sumps. Everything is already plumbed and im going to give it all a good vinegar soak, but im very new to this and out of my element so any help will be greatly appreciated.