Used RODI System Question

Hamsnacks

Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
38
Reaction score
54
Picked up a used RODI system in a package I bought, and just had 2 questions about it?
My new one is on the way but figured I'd ask about this one.

1) What is all that brown stuff, is that normal? Does that means its dirty, do you clean that or do you replace the whole thing? Or is that part of the cleaning system.
2) I hooked it up to see how it all works, is it normal that it takes forever to make any clean water? At the current rate, it'll take a day to fill up a 32 gallon brute bin.

Thanks

 

MERKEY

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 5, 2019
Messages
850
Reaction score
1,888
I'm not sure on any of those questions but following along.....

Oh wait I do have onsite to your last question!!

Each system has a day per gallon that they make. The one I have on order only makes 75g a day So technically....that takes a long time hahahah
 

Geebs19

Give me all the Euphyllia
View Badges
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
1,661
Reaction score
5,465
Location
De Soto, KS
Those are membrane housings, they catch partials. Those are extremely extremely dirty and should be cleaned, housing replaced. Does it have a tds meter and do you know what your water pressure is going in?
 
OP
H

Hamsnacks

Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
38
Reaction score
54
Those are membrane housings, they catch partials. Those are extremely extremely dirty and should be cleaned, housing replaced. Does it have a tds meter and do you know what your water pressure is going in?
No it doesn't have a tds meter and unfortantly don't know my water pressure either.
But based on you saying those membranes are extremely dirty, not even going to bother with the unit as it's probably just a waste of water. Going to wait for my unit to come in on Friday.
 

Geebs19

Give me all the Euphyllia
View Badges
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
1,661
Reaction score
5,465
Location
De Soto, KS
No it doesn't have a tds meter and unfortantly don't know my water pressure either.
But based on you saying those membranes are extremely dirty, not even going to bother with the unit as it's probably just a waste of water. Going to wait for my unit to come in on Friday.
I would say that is a good bet. Not worth making dirty water.
 

lavoisier

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
341
Reaction score
436
Location
Overland Park, KS
AquaLocker.com
Mistress Corals
Top