Using Seneye reef readings to cycle tank.

Syafiq

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone, I am new to this hobby and in the midst of cycling my tank. I am puzzled by the readings on my seneye reef.
Temp: 25.5°C
pH: 7.68
NH3: 0.248ppm
NH4: 37.06ppb
O2: 8.1

I would like to request for sound advice with regards to the accuracy of the readings and whether I'm in trouble with the high free ammonia reading provided by the seneye.

My Salifert test kits came out at follows:
Ammomia: 1.5
Nitate: 25

I dosed the tank with Dr Tims ammonium chloride and might have dosed a tad too much. I also added Tropic Marin nitrifying bacteria. There are diatoms on the sand and rocks, green algae on the tank's walls.

Am I on the right track or do I need to do a huge water change? Would really appreciate it to have feedbacks.

Thank you very much gurus.

T-J

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've found the Seneye to be very accurate.
The tank that mine is in is a year old.
Ammonia - .001
Ammonium - between 10-22 (day/night cycle)
The Seneye doesn't really measure Ammonium, only the free floating toxic Ammonia.
I'd stop dosing Ammonia and see if the bacteria are forming. Your Ammonia should be going down. Once that and the Nitrites get to 0, you should be good.
Some people like to test that the tank is cycled by dosing Ammonia to 2-4ppm. If it's gone in 24 hours, you should be good.
Since you're cycling the tank, and there isn't anything in it, just let it sit and continue to watch your Seneye through the app or website!

OP
OP
S

Syafiq

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0