Very high alkalinity levels!

Hunter90 HD

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi reefers,

I am in need of some serious advise, I am new to reefing so learning the ropes, but basically I have a very bad problem with a very high alkalinity level.

To give you some information on my setup, I have a Fluval 57 tank, running on OU water and Red Sea salt for SPS dominant systems.

I have two LPS corals and two small clown fish at the moment.

I currently test the waters foundations (Ca, KH, and MG) with Red Sea Foundation Pro test kit and I have the following readings for my tank.

Mg - 1200
KH - 7.5 Meq/L and 21 dKH!
Ca - 510
No3 - 0
No2 - 0

Salinity - 1.26ppm, calibrated yesterday using RO water

My corals are only opening slightly and I am really concerned about the alkalinity it is off the charts and I do not know why :(.

My filter media is:

Mechanical : Sponges, plastic media
Biological : Ceramic Bio rings
Chemical : Red Sea carbon, Micro-Lift Sili-Out (Silicate remover)

I am currently using Red Sea NO3 PO4 -X (NOPOX) to reduce algae and having lots of surface agitation.

My source OU water values is:

Mg - 0
KH - 4.5 Meq/L 12.6 dKH
Ca - 140

I am really stuck here, I’ve googled these issues and forums suggest to change the water, ensure good O2 is in the water to combat Carbon dioxide making the water more acidic but my levels still struggling to lower.

I did read that you can use calcium to combat high alkalinity levels but as I have 510 Ca I don’t want to make the water unstable and cause a crash in the PH.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Lee

PBar

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,
my first reaction is to rerun the alkalinity test to be sure that it is indeed quite high
Alkalinity rises if nitrate is falling by consumption... but your case if too extreme for that probably.

Prepare some water and also check the again the alkalinity level... normally I would do water changes to fix that.