Wanting to breed clownfish...

nano_ryan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everybody, I am very intrigued with the idea of breeding my 2 black ocellaris clownfish. They are captive bred, and I've only had them for around 4 months. They were the lucky 2 out of a whole school, and have never been separated since then. They are mated, but the female of the 2 is extremely protective of her anemone. Like, the male can not be near it or she will chase him, but no fighting or anything. They will occasionally swim together and the male will always do his shaking thing that clownfish do. Is this a sign of sexual maturity? The female rarely does it back. Each are around 1.5 inches.
Do you think they are ready to be put in a breeding tank? or should I wait longer? What do you experts say?

Sailfin11

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am not an expert, but I'd say you'll likely need to wait around a while before you see spawning. Most clownfish at the LFS are only a few months old and clowns only start breeding at the earliest 1.5-2 years old. My Clarkii's for example started spawning 15 months after I got them so probably around 18 months old. Once they start laying eggs they will continue to do so every 10 or so days and then you can move them to a breeding tank.

Wolf89

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everybody, I am very intrigued with the idea of breeding my 2 black ocellaris clownfish. They are captive bred, and I've only had them for around 4 months. They were the lucky 2 out of a whole school, and have never been separated since then. They are mated, but the female of the 2 is extremely protective of her anemone. Like, the male can not be near it or she will chase him, but no fighting or anything. They will occasionally swim together and the male will always do his shaking thing that clownfish do. Is this a sign of sexual maturity? The female rarely does it back. Each are around 1.5 inches.