Water change

jbonez_

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I currently have a 20g IM AIO fully cycled for about a month now, total water volume is 14.5g. I've been currently been doing four gallon water changes weekly because my Nitrates were tad high. Last Sunday I did my normal water change and tested today and I am showing zero nitrates now. Would be be a good idea to start feeding more? I currently only have two juvenile clowns that I feed Mysis shrimp and pellets occasionally.

Should I start doing about a two gallon water change per week now? I feel like four was too much and I wasn't thinking properly. Also, should I vacuum my gravel every week or should I go to bi weekly for now?

I'm new to Saltwater tanks and just trying to understand what the best solution for me is right now. I want to add corals but not for another 3-4 months at minimum.

ryanjohn1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You could feed a bit more but can also bi-weekly wc

jda

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you have coarse gravel, or a type of reef sand. If you have sand, I would wait years in between vacuuming it - you want bacteria and microfauna to populate the sand.

10% a week is fine - so 2 gallons is cool.

You are not done cycling. You are never done - hence a cycle. You are past the first part where the tank has enough bacteria to process your fish waste, but the tank has an ecosystem to develop and this is cyclical that adjusts. Next, you will get film algaes and maybe some coralline - this is a change to the ecosystem. These things will use fish waste directly and the bacteria that you once used for this will get smaller in population - more changes. You can add clean up crew when this happens. You can usually start to add corals too. As the corals grow, they will use fish waste directy too and the rest of the ecosystem will adjust as needed.

OP
OP
jbonez_

jbonez_

Community Member