Water Tests Help Please

George S.

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So being a newb I'm in need of some help. I've been cycling my tank for about 4 weeks and I've been using a Hanna tester to check on the Ammonia after dosing with Dr. Tim's One and Only. I also used the Ammonium Chloride to feed the cycle as recommended. I tested after dosing and my Hanna read 3.0 even those I dosed for 2.0. I assumed I did something wrong and decided to just wait it out. I haven't bothered testing anything else because the Ammonia level wasn't dropping at all. Now I also had heater issues on the first two days after the Dr. Tim's was added. My Finnex HMH series heaters stayed on over night and never cycled off which drove the tank up to 95 degrees. I touched the power button to check the settings the next morning and as soon as I did the heaters shut off. The next morning the tank was 68 degrees because they never cycled back on (junk returned). Now since my parameters didn't change over the next two weeks at all, still reading 3.0 on the Hanna I dosed Dr. Tim's again thinking maybe the temp issues killed the bacteria. I did not however dose the ammonia again. I got the feeling something was wrong when a week later I'm still reading 3.0 and I went out and got some Salifert test kits. Now I'm reading .15 on Ammonia, Nitrate is 50 and Nitrite is .1. First off has anyone seen this issue with the Hanna? I'm wondering if the reagents are bad. When I add the second reagent it turns the water milk white almost instantly. I'm also wondering if I should dose ammonia again and see if it drops before moving forward from here? Sorry for the long read and thanks in advance for the help.

Azedenkae

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0