Weird creature in coral frag

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

Mamamia8878

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everybody! I'm new here and this is my first post. I'm new to the hobby and just recently started coral I've had this one in my tank for about a week and just yesterday I noticed this weird hairlike creature poking out between the coral and the frag plug. Any ideas as to what this is? If you get close to it, it retreats quickly back inside. Thanks in advance for your help!

View attachment 20190212_184419.jpg

NoobReeefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
it looks like there is a couple more to the left. aptasia spreads pretty quickly. you could super glue over it like mentioned above or buy some aptasia x, aptasia x isn't that great for bigger aptasia but works pretty well on smaller ones.

OP
OP
Mamamia8878

Mamamia8878

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
it looks like there is a couple more to the left. aptasia spreads pretty quickly. you could super glue over it like mentioned above or buy some aptasia x, aptasia x isn't that great for bigger aptasia but works pretty well on smaller ones.
Thank you! There are a few more of them in there I noticed but this one was the biggest one and most noticeable. I'll go look up that stuff you mentioned. Hopefully I can get rid of it pretty easily. Is it harmful to my fish or other corals?

Hemmdog

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank you! There are a few more of them in there I noticed but this one was the biggest one and most noticeable. I'll go look up that stuff you mentioned. Hopefully I can get rid of it pretty easily. Is it harmful to my fish or other corals?
Yea they sting.
It’s an anemone.

crusso1993

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome aboard to R2R!

Good luck with getting rid of the aptasia.

Captain Quint

Plank Owner of the Orca
View Badges