What content is in your fish food. Does it matter?

Paul B

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I feed food with "living gut bacteria" because I feel that is the secret to keeping fish live for their full lifespan without ever getting any type of ailment. I use clams that I buy fresh (and freze myself) and live white worms which I raise and they live 5 days in salt water. For my staple, every day food I use LRS food. I never use any dried food such as flakes, pellets or "God Forbid" freeze dried and I use no additives as they are not needed. (IMO) My fish never get any diseases or need to be quarantined on this diet. But thats just me. :face-with-rolling-eyes:

Last edited:

Barncat

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Taking from my experience keeping cats, I feed a mixed diet, and since I am new at this, I'm still adding to my quiver of fish chow.

- I'm currently feeding PE mysis (frozen as well as pelletted) because I'm a hippy and it literally comes out of the lake that I live right next to. I love that feeding it means that I am helping protect wild kokanee salmon by feeding my pet fish an invasive species which harms kokanee plus helping support local human families too!
- Fauna Marin soft clownfish food.
- Also Vitalis pellets.
- Hikari crab pellets.
- Some Northfin algae pellets (only sometimes as my algae is currently flourishing and most of my inhabitants are carnivores.)

I have Polyp Lab reef roids for when I introduce corals; copepods will be introduced soon and I plan on adding another frozen food (probably PE Calanus.)

Cell

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Taking from my experience keeping cats, I feed a mixed diet, and since I am new at this, I'm still adding to my quiver of fish chow.