What could be feeding my green hair algae??

Bthomas

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been battling green hair algae for a couple months now and it keeps coming back.
The tank has been set up for 4 months and still has no fish in it only a few snails and crabs so I'm not feeding the tank much. Nitrates arnt super high (20-25). po4 is undetectable but I know that could be because the algae is consuming it.
I'm running carbon and gfo in a reactor and I'm manually removing as much as possible during weekly water changes but it keeps coming back..
I'm about to start dosing peroxide but even if that kills it it will continue to come back until I figure out the cause right?
Don't have a picture at the moment but can get one tomorrow if needed. Its definitely green hair algae and is growing on the rocks and sand bed..

OP
OP
Bthomas

Bthomas

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
At 4 months, that is typical. Get some snails and give things more time to stabilize. 4 months is pretty much a newborn tank.
Yeah I kinda figured that but are u saying it will just eventually go away on it's own with no intervention from me?

HB AL

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your gonna need to manually remove as much as possible until it subsides. If you add chemicals to knock it down remove as much as possible so it doesn't just waste away in the tank creating more or other headaches. It's possible your rocks are loaded and leaching stuff into the water since you aren't feeding any livestock and your nitrates are high. It might take a long time and a lot of patience.

OP
OP
Bthomas

Bthomas

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0