What size lumber to be used on stand?

BContos

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys!

Will be upgrading my 70 gallon DT to 150 gallon DT (60L X 24W X 24H) and trying to come up with a plan to build the wooden stand.

Bare with me- I have little knowledge in carpentry and will be having my husband build it but want to make sure we are using strong enough lumber.

Would using 4X4's as the posts, 2X4's (or 2X6's) as the braces work? We are having a internal overflow centered in the back of the tank- how many cross braces do I need? I am assuming I do not need to have a solid wood counter-top and bracing works?

Anything special to take note of I need to do?

redfishbluefish

Stay Positive, Stay Productive
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Don't use 4x4. If interested in a dimensional lumber stand, I'd suggest @RocketEngineer 's design....proven and used by many. The general rule is all 2x4's up to four foot long; 2x6 top frame for over 4 foot long. No center brace needed. Here's the plan:

Stand.JPG

I just so happen to have a five foot tank and here's the raw stand for my tank. I topped it with 3/4 plywood and I think 3/8 plywood skin.

OurStand.jpg

areefer01

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You will want to use 2 x 4. Thread below on Rocket Engineer's stand that everyone uses. Tried and true. If the link gets removed do a search on DIY Stands Template and Calculator RocketEngineer. Best stand out there.

workhz

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not sure if anyone has addressed this, but on the top beams, do you go crown up or down? You could go crown up, and sand flat or assume the tank will press everything down or crown down and shim? Regardless, get really straight pieces of wood for the top and make sure you don't have pressure points.

RedoubtReef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0