Why reef keeping?

chowwil

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For me, because I suffer from anxiety and I remember as a kid I felt at peace when I was at an aquarium watching the fish swim. I don't know if this is stupid but when I have a bad day or feel overly stressed I come home, sit, watch and I feel more relaxed. My boyfriend has caught me in the middle of night just watching the fish swim. This hobby has helped me in so many ways. I know it stupid but it's honest
Not stupid. Watching my tank and watching everything grow is very comforting and awarding.

Jl330

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've always been drawn to water and the ocean. Aquariums fascinate me and I love the reefs. Plus I've always had pets.

Orcus Varuna

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As most of you know I'm a teacher and this is our first full week of school. Through the last two days we went over classroom policy and what not that is appropriate in the classroom.
Today we went over a get to know me exercise where we say who we are and what we do for fun, 5 favorite foods, I think you guys get where I'm going.
So I gave an example for the classroom and told them I like keeping a reef tank as a hobby. One student raised their hand and ask what's so great about keeping a tank for Nemo. I told him it's an amazing hobby to not only learn about an eco system but to control something and make it thrive. I told them how I love watching things grow and see how other species adapt to hard times. I continued to develop a more in depth conversation with my 7th grade class then I intended however it got me thinking.

Why did you guys get and stay in this hobby?