Why would you ever want a refugium?

i_declare_bankruptcy

out of control
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let me preface this by saying that I'm starting a refugium right now. Also, I studied computer science and physics in school and I can't balance a chemical equation; I'm not sharp there.

I've been reading about coral reefs (at my mortal level of intelligence, mind you) and have encountered some contradicting information. Primarily, the role of algae in the reef ecosystem. As we know, algae abundance is bad -- it can smother corals, look ugly, and clog up equipment. One way some combat algae is through refugiums on the premise that they "out compete" the algae in the display tank. A seemingly unnatural (though our tanks are inherently unnatural) part of the ecosystem based on my reading. However, from my understanding of reefs, this could actually be a detriment in some circumstances. According to Coral Reefs in the Microbial Seas (Forrest Rohwer, Merry Youle), DDAM (DOC, Death, Algae, and Microbes) is responsible for a large amount of reef bleaching events. The theory states that the overgrowth of algae can potentially release excess DOC (dissolved organic carbon) into the water column, thus providing a wealth of nutrients for microbes to consume and grow. If the microbes in the coral encounter these nutrients and grow too quickly, they could potentially consume the local oxygen at such a rate that the coral is asphyxiated. Additionally, some turf algae has been shown to carry specific pathogens that can cause white-band disease in corals through the means of physical contact. Sources: Coral Reefs in the Microbial Seas 104-115; additional sources used by the text are cited there as well.

Based on this understanding, could popular refugium algae such as Chaetomorpha, provide the conditions necessary to harm coral health?