Will 10 ml daily be effective using No3:PO4-X for the first time.

bamafied1220

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Will dosing 10 ml a day of N03P04-X be enough to feed bacteria populations and eventually begin to drop nitrates?

I have an approx. 200 gallon (757 L) system mixed reef. I currently have been using a large skimmer and gfo reactor for nutrient export. I have been using api for nitrates but just acquired the Hanna HI782 high range nitrate checker. My Nitrates tested at 29.1 last night and my phosphates are sitting around .3 right now.

I have had NO3PO4- X for a while but I haven't used it as I have been waiting for my new Reef Dose 4 to come in to start dosing it. The Instructions call for approx 22.5 ml to be dosed daily (3 ml per 100L). I'm new to carbon dosing and don't want any adverse effects so looking to start a lot slower. FWIW my phosphates are sitting around .3 right now. After reading up on the buddy and Redfield Ratio I'm looking to drop nitrates into the 2-4 ppm range and P04 into the 0.1 - 0.3 range.

Last edited:

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't know, but it seems like if you have excess nutrients why would you add more? Does this product contain live bacteria? If it doesn't I am not sure why you would want to add more to feed the bacteria that already are overwhelmed with nutrients. Hopt that makes sense. Good Luck-bump!

Oh, Adding carbon, I should have read further. Still a maybe! Good luck with getting the biology working for you! It's a great battle but you can win this.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
B

bamafied1220

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't know, but it seems like if you have excess nutrients why would you add more? Does this product contain live bacteria? If it doesn't I am not sure why you would want to add more to feed the bacteria that already are overwhelmed with nutrients. Hopt that makes sense. Good Luck-bump!