You're not going to believe this... I actually got my camera out yesterday!

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

Battlecorals

Aquaculturist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Yeah I have really struggled the last couple years with photography and nearly devout procrastination as many, many of you are well aware of. "Got colony shots of the fill in the blank" is a question I get asked a lot! So what happened? Where did I get lost, or loose my mojo?

Well it all started a few years ago. I'm pretty sure of this now. It was at this time I started shooting under LEDs and more importantly under blue, to deep blue in order to portray some of these pieces that really do shine under blue light. I could go on about how this has really changed the landscape of photography and coral portrayal and appeal in the hobby, however that's a subject for another write up.

But, let me just back up a second and remind you that I honestly loved shooting under halide. In fact 90% of the pics on my site are still 20k radium pics for sure. I'd shoot in RAW and edit in Lightroom and all was well with the world. My method, while always being streamlined worked well and the end results were very acceptable to me.

But once I started shooting and experimenting with bluer light I feel just never really hit the mark. The process became way less rewarding and more deflating and even daunting and my spark really went out.

Well, last week in a post by @ryshark about my stale homepage and very little activity overall seemed to reignite that spark in fact I really needs to hear that and I did get fired up again. Only I said to myself, "let's forget the blue light antics and stick with what I know."