Zonly1's 210 Gallon Playground

Zonly1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello fellow reefers!

So, a brief intro. I've been hanging around here for a while, but I'm not a heavy poster and this is my first time posting a tank build thread. I've been reefing since around 2002 starting out with a 125 gallon mixed reef and then adding a 90 gallon aggressive tank. In 2015 my company moved me to from Utah to Northern California, so got rid of most of my stuff, it was rough. There I had a 20 gallon tank in an apartment for two years...not the same! Well, we moved back to Utah and it is time to get back into the game!

This will more than likely be a very slow build, but that's okay! Here is the start:

Here is the room that we decided to use.

Inthebegining.jpg

I did not want the tank on the carpet (been there, done that) so decided to tile. Notice on the upper left, I had the tile setter cut out a piece of tile so I can plumb down to the basement for the sump, etc.
AlmostThere.jpg

Here we are ready for some tank action.

Carpettiledone.jpg

I bought the tank and stand from a buddy and had another buddy help deliver it and here is the arrival!

Thearrival.jpg

All ready for the fun to begin!

completetank.jpg

Here is the basement area directly below the tank.

basement.jpg

So, this is my beginning. I do have some of the equipment from before like my Apex, MP40s, AI Sol Blues, etc. but things have really taken off technology wise so I'm open to suggestions. I need to figure out a return pump that is easy on the electric bill, but is suitable for a basement sump as well as lighting; I only have 2 of the Sol Blues and this is a 6' tank...not gonna cut it!

The other thing that I'm worried about is plumbing. The tank is a reef-ready with a durso set-up. Am I okay with that, what have others done?

Thanks for looking and I'm glad to be this close to being back!

SDReefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0