Anemone spitting out intestines?

BlakeK.

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m pretty sure my anemone is dying. It was doing great for about a week. It was eating mysis shrimp and seemed happy, but it’s mouth started gaping in the last hour and looks like it’s spitting out it’s innards. Do I try to save it? Or should I take it out right away? At what point do I have to worry about it nuking the tank? It’s a small anemone in a 50 gallon tank. However, the tank is fairly new. I’ve had it up for 2 months but all the rocks and fish and everything came from a 10 month old tank. Any help is appreciated. Thanks guys.

269e087b9b33029c534b0d1c52a098af.jpg

68b131896a396a4ae4e5b39f25f0ac71.jpg
e5317ab64bf4f0e7c84848ef047f0f0d.jpg

potatocouch

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It still look bubbly though .. I don't think it's dying but then I'm not an expert ..

OP
OP
B

BlakeK.

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How old is the tank?

I mentioned it in there. Ive had it for 2 months, BUT everything came from a 10 month old tank with the exception of the addition of about 20 pounds more of dry rock when I first received it.

OP
OP
B

BlakeK.

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
015b2cae5898635aecf70b76f2368866.jpg

Here’s another picture from within the last 5 minutes. Almost looks like it’s just throwing up all the mysis shrimp? Is that normal? I heard they “throw up their intestines” when they’re dying, but don’t know how true that is. Maybe this is just how they poo?

fishbox

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Mine has done this before a couple times. Not sure why but it's healthy. I'd like to know though

OP
OP
B

BlakeK.

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Mine has done this before a couple times. Not sure why but it's healthy. I'd like to know though