Maintaining Calcium and Alkalinity. What do you use and how does it work for you.

IPisces

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A lot of us struggle with maintaining calcium and alkalinity in our smaller tanks. I have a 75 gal mixed reef that I am trying to maintian the calcium and alkalinity by dosing a two part product. I am currently using IO Reef Crystals salt mix. I am dosing Kent Marine Tech CB. 2oz of part A and about 1/2 oz of part B every morning. Alk fluctuates between 8.4 and 11.2. Not over night but over a period of a couple weeks. Cal stays low. Around 280-340. I know this is not the ideal ratio but its tought to dose just the right amount to keep the calcium and alkalinity at a constant level. I am still really new to this hobby. I started my first tank 2 years ago last month. I would like to learn more about the different approaches to maintaining these levels and to keep my system stable.

I would like to hear what others are doing to keep the calcium and alkalinity in there system. Please include
What size tank you are keeping?
Are you keeping sps and is it a lot of sps or just a few?
What salt mix are you using?
Are you dosing anything and what and how much? Are you running a calc reactor & how does it work?
Are you able to keep your system stable with what your doing or are you having trouble keeping the levels consistant?
How often are your water changes and do you dose your new saltwater before doing the water change to match the calcium and alkalinity levels in your tank?
Any other information that you feel will be helpful is appreciated.
How often do you test your water for calc & alk levels.

Lytehouse

just havin' fun
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0