“King,” A Tribute to my Amazing, Quirky Clown Trigger

Awesome458

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Forty-two years ago (not long after I graduated high school), I was living in a small 700 sqft walk up flat and I really wanted to adopt a small dog. However, I could not afford the required damage deposit! As luck would have it fish were not subject to the deposit, so I purchased the first of what would become seven aquariums.

Four tanks were setup as saltwater, the remaining three as freshwater. The largest tank was home to “King,” my six-inch long Clown Trigger. King was an aquarium store owners personal pet and I tried many times to buy him, with no luck. Even after offering two or three times the going price for a similar size Trigger, the answer was still “No.”

The aquarium store owner said that his pet Clown Trigger had a “one-of-a-kind” personality and he was not for sale. I kept working on him every time I visited the store for fish and supplies and one day (about one year later) he finally acquiesced and agreed to sell him to me.

He warned me that he was very aggressive (and may bite if given the opportunity), so I needed to keep him in a large tank by himself. I agreed and left the store with King under my arm and a big cheeky grin on my face. As luck would have it, I had a tank already setup and waiting. I had been looking for a Snowflake Moray for a few months and had previously prepared a suitably large tank.

As King got settled into his new home, I went back to the fish store the following week and asked his previous owner more about his personality. He said that King acted more like a dog than a fish and gave several examples.

He would fetch a practice golf ball (the kind that was hollow with holes in it) that you threw into the tank, then throw it back out of the tank at you. Not once or twice, but over and over again… Our longest play time doing this was about 25 minutes!