14-Day Dino Eradication

Leadfooted

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I wanted to share my method/experience of battling Dino's simply because It's working for me so well. All 3 times I've dealt with Dinoflagellates, I've had the Prorocentrum species ID'd under microscope. Please note, I'm not even close to a marine biologist, I'm simply applying what I've learned and read over the past 3-4 years from the most experienced people in our hobby. I'm still learning and trying to improve so please feel free to chime in, the education never ends.

14-Day Aggressive Dino Eradication

With all my experience (too much) when dealing with Dinoflagellates, I’ve found the best way to beat them is to physically remove as many dino’s in every way possible, injure them or have them consumed. It’s equally important to dramatically reduce their food source by adding competition (pods and rotifers) and continuously disrupt clumps/colonies of Dino’s where they gather when the lights are on. Fish poop is also one of the more important factors. If you don’t have a heavy fish load, I suggest adding more (preferably fish that will have larger poops, size matters here).

First step : ID a sample of the algae under a microscope to be sure it’s a form of Dino.

Test Phosphate : .05-1.0 is the target range. The higher the phosphate, the better but be mindful and keep a close eye on corals as it elevates.

Test Nitrate : 5ppm-10ppm is the target but anything detectable is a good sign.

UV Light: I ran mine every other day during the daytime, also I ran the UV for an hour during and after each time I stirred up the sand / cleaned off the rocks (turkey style baster). I firmly believe running the UV all night to be crucial to this battle and yes, I can support this case.

Daily instructions for each 200 gallon water volume:

FLOW: