16 gal, 58Litre newbie (Modest}Cade tank build

Steph1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not sure if this is the right place for this thread.

4 months ago I bought a 23Litre pico tank as a complete beginner although I have had some experience with freshwater. I had marginal success with the Ocean free all in one with a really bad limewood skimmer the cheap standard light that comes with it fish are doing fine corals not so much but they are all alive but not thriving.

Anyway decided to go a bit larger (I love the ideas of nano tanks) I am fully aware of the difficulties with small tanks and how quickly things can change.

That is just background. but am upgrading to a Cade 16 Gal (58 Litre) and wanted to upgrade to decent equipment. I do not have a lot of cash so my approach is balanced and modest and out of the box to a degree.

a20 499.jpg

My tank arrives

Last edited:
OP
OP
S

Steph1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I bought the bookshelf from Ikea and put a 15mm marine ply on the back with about 20 SS screws.
I then bought some doors (2). I like the idea of the tank not being stand alone but a part of furniture and storage for test equipment electrics electronics, food, chemicals, ATO container

etc and a surface for doing tests and chemicals food etc

a20 540.jpg

OP
OP
S

Steph1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Did the Aquascaping chose dry rock for many reasons and glued and fixed 7 seperate rocks together very carefully with ledges and holes. I added the Colal box moon light bought from a friend added an Aqueal 75W heater ( I think its called a "Cobolt in the US) made in Poland not China:)

a20 521.jpg

OP
OP
S

Steph1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0