1950’s home. No ground but adding a GFCI. Need help

Denisk

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all,

I have a question for any electricians and or people who can help me with this. Just bought my first house with my wife (SUPER HAPPY) however it is a 1950’s single family home. I set up up my tank and noticed the outlet I plan to use isn’t grounded. Now I can’t unfortunately add a ground at the moment with running a ground wire all the way to electrical box. So what I wanted to know if I can still install a GFCI outlet. I read online that a gfci will technically still work without a ground wire screwed into the green bolt. I’m far from an electrician but I want to make sure what I read was right. I do plan to eventually run a ground wire but wanted to know if the gfci can still be installed and safely work as is.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all,

I have a question for any electricians and or people who can help me with this. Just bought my first house with my wife (SUPER HAPPY) however it is a 1950’s single family home. I set up up my tank and noticed the outlet I plan to use isn’t grounded. Now I can’t unfortunately add a ground at the moment with running a ground wire all the way to electrical box. So what I wanted to know if I can still install a GFCI outlet. I read online that a gfci will technically still work without a ground wire screwed into the green bolt. I’m far from an electrician but I want to make sure what I read was right. I do plan to eventually run a ground wire but wanted to know if the gfci can still be installed and safely work as is.

Thank you!
Yes, a GFCI will still provide some protection and may be installed. The GFCI receptacle package should include a sticker that you are required to attach to the front plate saying that the outlet isn't grounded.

OP
OP
Denisk

Denisk

Valuable Member
View Badges